Book Review: The Shack

3233624352_dce9d4ffca_z
Picture courtesy of https://c2.staticflickr.com/4/3378/3233624352_dce9d4ffca_z.jpg?zz=1

In December last year, I was introduced to The Shack. A novel I had somehow never heard of and when I was told that this was a novel I have to read, I did.  I recently found out that this novel will be screened in cinemas next month. *Happy Dance* 

What is it about, you ask? I have included my brief synopsis below (Read the full one here)

The novel is based on a father’s uplifting spiritual journey after suffering a family tragedy. I won’t divulge too much information, but it is thrilling.

Anyway, he goes into depression and then out of the blue, receives a letter… and this letter is the start of his journey.

What do I think about the novel?

I don’t know about you, but I am the type of person who loves reading gripping books of substance (It just so happens that some of these have been turned into films)

After reading the novel in only a few days, I learned so much from 270 odd pages and it honestly gave me a new outlook on death, my relationship with Christ and above all, my understanding of being a human dealing with my very own internal shack.

Although this novel is non-fiction, I truly feel that there is so much truth to it. It makes so much sense – with the smart, well thought out storyline coupled with a message about seeing & thinking out-of-the-box. All I can say is that this story has moved me.

As much as I don’t want to give anything away to those who have not yet read it yet, my favourite part of the entire journey of enlightenment is near the end, where the main character, Mackenzie is in the presence of God. He realises that forgiveness does not mean that anything is forgotten – as per the saying “forgive and forget”. It is more an understanding that when we forgive someone, it is about leaving that person’s hurtful actions in the hands of Christ and being freed from the anger and internal wounds.

Overall, this novel is easy to read and follows the story line without jumping from different scenarios.

Now I cannot wait to watch the film. Check out the trailer on The Shack’s official website – http://www.theshack.movie/#trailer

Have you read this book? I would love to hear your thoughts about it.

 

Leave a Reply

