Minion themed 1st birthday

Bello!


So as it goes, I love planning parties and can’t wait for the chance to come up with clever ideas for a specific theme.

When it came time, I thought that it only seemed fitting to throw such a party for my sons 1st birthday and what better theme than “Minions”.

As soon as I had the idea, I thought of a fun space to host the kids (and parents)…a place where the kids could run free, where they could have a jumping castle and a place with shelter, just in case it rained. November in Durban seems to have very uncertain weather patterns and in the 2 years preceding my sons birthday, we had rain.


Luckily for me, the weather was perfect and we had a great time and everyone raved about the theme, which is the reason why I am writing this post.

Back to the theme.


First and foremost, I chose the location. A sports field, which I booked. It had a field as well as a bar and sitting area under shelter at the sports club adjoining the field.


Then, I organised a jumping castle to be put up and booked that in advance.


When it came to the food, I gained my inspiration from the Despicable me movie.

Minion Cake
Minion Cake

Some healthy snacks….Bananas, Bubblegum flavoured Otees breakfast cereal as “Minion Munch” as well as fish fingers as “Minion fishfinger surfboards”. For the adult food, we ordered biryani which was more cost-effective than hosting a braai and it fed an army. LOL. Oh yes! I also had an ice-cream and yoghurt bar with toppings, which went down very well.

Banana minion faces

minion themes food ideas

minion food ideas, minion plates, minion cups
minion themes food ideas

I also decorated accordingly – everything Minion related stuck on to yellow and blue paper plates, yellow papers cups and we also had serviettes to match.

I also dressed my little one to the theme…my little Minion!

DIY minion outfit for kids

 Whallah! Now go on and try these ideas for your next birthday party.


‘Til next time!

Leave a Reply

